History of the Squire Cup

The Squire Cup was born in the winter of 1986, when a group of people that included J.P. Howard (then the Northeast Region Sales Manager for Wilson Sporting Goods), Jim O’Mara (then President of the Metropolitan PGA Assistants Association), Gil McNally (then President of the Metropolitan PGA), and Russell Helwig (then President of the New Jersey PGA) met to discuss a way of honoring the best assistant professionals in the area.

Because the great “Squire,” Gene Sarazen, began his legendary career here in the Met area as an assistant at Brooklawn, it was decided to name the event after him. Indeed the first victorious Squire Cup team, the Met Section team of 1987, autographed a copy of his biography with the following inscription: “Thank you for the image to which we aspire.”

In 2004 the event was renamed the Gene Borek Squire Cup Matches in honor of one of the Metropolitan PGA’s most decorated professionals. Gene Borek’s legacy of achievements in the areas of Leadership, Professional Performance and Playing Ability are well documented making this event the perfect competition to carry his name. The perpetual trophy has also been named in his honor.

It is with this foundation that the Squire Cup continues. Recognition of the outstanding Assistant Professionals for all that they do for the golf community and the Met PGA is an essential way of preserving their dedication and devotion to the game and the area. The Gene Borek Squire Cup Matches continue as a celebration of what makes the Metropolitan PGA Section and our outstanding golf professionals truly special.

​We have the opportunity to again pay tribute to one of our greatest professionals, the late Gene Borek and to celebrate today’s leaders in our association at a venue that has already made its mark on golf’s history.

Purpose and Format of the Gene Borek Squire Cup

In the spirit of honoring outstanding Assistant Professionals, a competition is held against a team of outstanding Head Professionals in the Metropolitan PGA. The format pits two-man teams in singles and better ball play. Aggregate scores for the two man teams determine the

winning team. By selecting these exceptional Assistants, we honor them and at the same time promote the values, history, and traditions that make our Section unique.

The Metropolitan PGA Squire Cup Team is comprised of twelve outstanding Head and Assistant Professionals in the Met Section. They will compete in a modified Ryder Cup format. Applicants are chosen in one of three categories. These categories are Leadership, Overall Professional Performance, and Playing Ability.

2018 Gene Borek Squire Cup Teams 




Michael Argentine 

Saint Andrew's

Mike Ballo

Winged Foot

Peter Ballo


Jessica Carafiello

Innis Arden 

Gabe Carr-Harris


Nick Iacono


Tyler Lower

Buring Tree

Frankie Martinez


Michael Midgetterd


John Schmoll

Burning Tree

Alexander Smith

Garden City

Daniel Sposato

Mill River

Head Professionals
Name Club
Carl Alexander Purchase 
Andy Crane West Point 
Brian Crowell Silo Ridge
Matt Dobyns Fresh Meadow 
Dave Gosiewski Noyac
Greg Hurd North Hempstead
Chris Kenney Patterson
Rick Meskell Meadow Brook
Bob Minicozzi Powelton
James Ondo Apawamis
Stuart Waack Silvermine
Heath Wassem Fenway