In 1973, the legendary Slammer came to Westchester Country Club for the Met PGA's Annual Spring Forum. During the program, he was also honored by the Section as one of the five greatest players of all time. Snead's appearance drew a record crowd that still stands to this day of over 400 professionals and guests. In addition to honoring Snead for his history of playing accomplishments, the Met PGA announced that in his honor the Sam Snead Award would be presented annually for distinguished service.

The Sam Snead Award Criteria
The Snead Award criteria was left intentionally vague although the intent was obvious. The award would be presented to an individual in recognition of his or her contributions to the game of golf, the PGA and the Met Section. While all of the other Special Awards are presented only to PGA Members, the Snead Award could honor professionals or amateurs and its list of recipients reads like a who's who of golf in the Metropolitan area.

Recipient(s) Year
TBD 2017
Charlie Robson 2016
John Kennedy 2015
Rodney Loesch 2014
Mary Beth Childs 2013
Jeff Hall 2012
Robert L. Watson 2011
Michael Hebron 2010
Paul Dillon 2009
Dave Catalano 2008
Gil McNally 2007
Phil Laskawy 2006
Jim Albus 2005
Tom Nieporte 2004
Gene Borek 2003
Ely Callaway 2002
Dave Marr 2001
Metropolitan Golf Ass'n. 2000
Joe Moresco 1999
George Sands 1998
Michael Feidelson 1997
William A. Mitchell 1996
Arnold Kerner 1995
Lowell Schulman 1994
Edward T. Schneider 1993
Bob Joyce 1992
Paul Runyan 1991
Gene Sarazen 1990
Howard Treiber 1989
Met. Golf Course Supts. 1988
Dr. Richard Silver 1987
Mike Turnesa 1986
Bud Miller 1985
James R. Hand 1984
Frank Cardi 1983
Claude Harmon 1982
Harry Cooper 1981
Dana Mozley 1980
William M. Jennings 1979
Joseph C. Dey, Jr. 1978
Vincent Draddy 1977
Guido Cribari 1976
Al Brosch 1975
Jack Mallon 1974